Mendoza, Kuhle win SGA presidency

Mendoza works with many different groups on campus.

Mendoza works with many different groups on campus.

Viewpoints Editor

On April 16 it was announced that the next president and vice president of the Student Government Association are juniors Samantha Mendoza and George Kuhle. They won the election with 426 votes.

“George and I are so incredibly thankful for all of the support we’ve received over the past couple of weeks,” Mendoza said. “We’re so glad to have seen the student body participate in the elections, and we can’t wait to get to work and see what else we can do this year. We couldn’t have asked for better opponents than John and Souther, and we wish them the best of luck in all that we know they will accomplish next year.”

Voting was open to students for nearly two weeks and a total of 635 students voted, which is 8.03 percent of the total student body. 

Sen. John Wooding and Sen. Souther Recio received 209 votes. 

Along with new leadership at the top of SGA, St. Edward’s University students elected a new senate. The new senate will consist of 5 reelected senators and 7 newly elected senators. They will be inducted May 1.

Freshman Paola Gallegos is one reelected senator who is happy to maintain her role in SGA. 

While she only served as an SGA senator during the spring semester, Gallegos said her work contributed to improving dining facilities and addressing health concerns, which she plans to continue focusing on next year.

“I feel extremely blessed and excited to be re-elected,” Gallegos said. “This is something that I have always loved to do. I hope the upcoming school year will be filled with as much productivity as the past one was.” 

Newly elected senator freshman Kyle Thomas is excited to join the association and feels he will bring a fresh perspective to the group. 

As senator, Thomas hopes to help students by extending the hours the dining halls and the library are open. 

“I feel honored to be a part of the Student Government Association here at St. Edward’s,” Thomas said. “I never thought that I would have this role, to be able to make changes to help the student body here on campus.”

 The new senate will consist of: 

Reelected senators Newly elected senators  
Sen. Jonathan Edwards Victoria Godinez
Sen. Paola Gallegos Michael Haywood 
Sen. Sara Katona Anna Hoskinson 
Sen. Marcy Marbut Dominick Namis 
Sen. Jacob Rogers Felicia Stevens 
  Caroline Teck 
  Kyle Thomas 

The new members of SGA will serve for the 2014-2015 school year.